International Video Art Festival “Now&After’22”

Olivie

Opening of the festival on July 14 at 19.00

18+

On July 14, the 11th International Video Art Festival “Now&After’22” will open at the Center for Creative Industries “Fabrika”. The festival will present the best of the works of video artists from all over the world sent to the competition. Thirty artists from Australia, Russia, Germany, Uzbekistan, France, India, Italy, Cuba, Great Britain, Japan, Lithuania, Brazil, Estonia, Austria, Argentina, the USA and South Africa became participants in Now&After’22. The theme of the festival is "POSSIBLE AND IMPOSSIBLE".

 

"The only way to discover the limits of the possible is to dare to step into the impossible."

Arthur Clarke "Features of the Future"

 

We do not know the limits of the possible, but once we wake up, we can find ourselves on the other side of the Rubicon, in the impossible. And then it suddenly turns out that we did not enter the beautiful future of flights to the stars and cities in the ocean, but fell into the embodied nightmare of the dystopias of the great science fiction writers. “An excess of imagination is much less common than its deficiency,” notes Arthur C. Clarke in the same book. The lack of imagination cannot cope with the foresight of the picture of the future and therefore often gives rise to catastrophes of the present.

For artists, this principle works in reverse, and a developed imagination gives them the opportunity to look into the present, the past, and the future. Video artists from all over the world will open for viewers the facets of the possible and the impossible in everyday and social life, in personal relationships and observations of those who are “not human” and live next to us, in nature and in virtual reality, in memories and a possible future.

Lilia Li-Mi-Yan and Katerina Sadowsky invite viewers to evaluate the project of the multitasking post-human of the future (“A000000000001000AA011”). The recent past looks into the future, not allowing itself to be forgotten. Echoes of covid isolation can be heard in the works of Ian Gibbins ("Isolation Procedures"), Adriana Barbosa, Fernanda Pessoa ("Same/Different/Both/None"), Debjit Bagchi's Home.MOV. The unhealed traumas of the past move into the present and the future to stay with us. It is remembered by Luca Ferri ("Yes") and Virginia Eleuteri Serpieri ("The Tale of the Water").

"Non-humans", according to the observations of artists, live an intense, often inaccessible life for us. Ilya Martynov keeps a close eye on birds, which (and he knows the language of birds) send distress signals ("SOS") into space. Pierre Villeman discovers wonderful abilities in his dog ("So small, but he has big ideas in his head"). Kindness and compassion often go hand in hand with cruelty. She knows how to masterfully penetrate the cordons of the possible. The presence of evil is manifested in the works of artists from different countries and continents: Qunyuan Wang from Germany, (“Counterpoint I”), Cuban artists Lucia Malandro and D. Saucedo (“Example # 35”), Dante Rustava from Uzbekistan (“Invasion”), groups Roy from Russia (“Bread”), Laura Focarazzo, Argentina (“Unknown Territory”), Anuja Malhotra from India (“Confusion”). Fortunately, imagination and poetry easily overcome the barriers of the impossible. The bilingual prose poems of Eta Dahlia ("Ash Light") draw us into a play on words and images. The "winged" Lisi Prada follows the musical form at ease and almost manages to take off. Philosophically thoughtful "The Monk" by Paulus Schlaupa plunges into measured pictures of the relationship between man and nature, referring to the feeling of loss. The images of Chantal Ackerman and cellist Sonia Wieder-Atherton create Vivian Ostrowski's son Chant rhythmic audiovisual fabric.

Artists with their work would like to change the world for the better, whether they look through the eyes of a poet or explore the possibility of evil infiltration. Alas, not everything is subject to them, cruelty and violence remain companions of our life, but as long as the portals from the possible to the impossible are open to the imagination flying into the future, good feelings, love and poetry, there remains faith in the victory of the forces of good.

Festival curator and director — Marina Fomenko
Organizer: Media Art Center Now&After

Co-organizer: CCI "Fabrika"

www.now-after.org   

       


Dates: Jult 15 – August 15, 2022
Address: Perevedenodskiy pereulok 18, Olivie

International Video Art Festival “Now&After’22”The International Video Art Festival "Now&After" is organized and held by the independent non-profit organization Center for Media Art "Now&After", which is engaged in activities in the field of culture, development of interregional and international relations in the field of media art. "Now&After" is held annually in Moscow on the basis of an open call for applications from video artists from all over the world. "Now&After" started in 2011, the author of the project is the artist Marina Fomenko, who is the director and curator of the festival. The main aim of "Now&After" is to support, develop and present video art, to create an opportunity for both young and established artists from Russia and around the world to show their work to a wide audience.

Международный фестиваль видеоарта «Сейчас&Потом’22»

Оливье

Открытие фестиваля 14 июля в 19.00

18+

 

14 июля в Центре Творческих Индустрий «Фабрика» откроется одиннадцатый Международный фестиваль видеоарта «Сейчас&Потом’22». На фестивале будут представлены лучшие из присланных на конкурс работы видеохудожников со всего мира. Участниками «Сейчас&Потом’22» стали тридцать художников из Австралии, России, Германии, Узбекистана, Франции, Индии, Италии, Кубы, Великобритании, Японии, Литвы, Бразилии, Эстонии, Австрии, Аргентины, США и ЮАР. Тема фестиваля «ВОЗМОЖНОЕ И НЕВОЗМОЖНОЕ». 

 «Единственный способ обнаружения пределов возможного состоит в том, чтобы отважиться сделать шаг в невозможное».

                                                                                                                            Артур Кларк «Черты будущего»

 

Мы не знаем пределов возможного, но однажды проснувшись, можем обнаружить себя по ту сторону рубикона, в невозможном. И тогда вдруг окажется, что вступили мы не в прекрасное грядущее полетов к звездам и городов в океане, а упали в воплощенный кошмар антиутопий великих фантастов.  «Избыток воображения встречается значительно реже, чем его недостаток», — отмечает Артур Кларк в той же книге. Нехватка воображения не может справиться с предвидением картины будущего и потому часто порождает катастрофы настоящего. 

Для художников этот принцип работает наоборот, и развитое воображение дает им возможность заглянуть и в настоящее, и в прошлое, и в будущее. Видеохудожники со всех уголков мира откроют для зрителей грани возможного и невозможного в обыденной и социальной жизни, в личных отношениях и наблюдениях за теми, кто «не человек» и живет рядом с нами, в природе и в виртуальной реальности, в воспоминаниях и возможном будущем. 

Лилия Ли-Ми-Ян и Катерина Садовски предлагают зрителям оценить проект мультизадачного пост-человека будущего («A000000000001000AA011»). Недавнее прошлое заглядывает в будущее, не давая о себе забыть. Эхо ковидной изоляции звучит в работах Йена Гиббинса («Процедуры изоляции»), Адрианы Барбоса, Фернанды Песоа («Одинаковые /Разные /Обе /Ни одна»), в Home.MOV Дебжита Багчи. Незаживающие травмы прошлого переходят в настоящее и будущее, чтобы остаться с нами. Об этом помнят Лука Ферри («Да») и Вирджиния Элеутери Серпиери («Сказка воды»). 

«Не-люди», по наблюдениям художников, живут интенсивной, часто недоступной для нас жизнью. Илья Мартынов пристально следит за пернатыми, которые (а он знает язык птиц) посылают в космос сигналы бедствия («SOS»). Пьер Виллеман открывает чудесные способности у своей собачки («Такой маленький, но большие идеи у него в голове»). Рядом с добротой и сочувствием нередко обитает жестокость. Она умеет виртуозно проникать сквозь кордоны возможного.  Присутствие зла проявляется в работах художников разных стран и континентов: Цюньюань Вана из Германии, («Контрапункт I»), кубинских художников Люсии Маландро и Д. Сауседо («Пример #35»), Данте Рустава из Узбекистана («Вторжение»), группы Рой из России («Хлеба»), Лауры Фокараццо, Аргентина («Неизвестная территория»), Ануджа Малхотры из Индии («Смятение»). К счастью, воображение и поэзия легко преодолевают барьеры невозможного. Двуязычные стихотворения в прозе Эты Далия («Пепельный свет») втягивают нас в игру слов и образов. «Крылатая» Лизи Прада непринужденно следует за музыкальной формой, и ей почти удается взлететь. Философски-задумчивый «Монах» Паулюса Шляупы погружает в размеренные картины взаимоотношений человека и природы, обращаясь к чувству потери. Образы Шанталь Аккерман и виолончелистки Сони Видер-Атертон создают ритмичную аудиовизуальную ткань «Son Chant» у Вивиан Островски. 

Художники своими работами хотели бы изменить мир к лучшему, смотрят ли они глазами поэта или изучают возможность проникновения зла. Увы, им подвластно не все, жестокость и насилие остаются спутниками нашей жизни, но пока порталы из возможного в невозможное открыты для летящего в будущее воображения, добрых чувств, любви и поэзии, остается вера в победу сил добра. 

Куратор и директор фестиваля — Марина Фоменко
Организатор: Центр медиаискусства Сейчас&Потом
Соорганизатор: ЦТИ «Фабрика»

www.now-after.org   

                 


Даты работы: 15 июля — 15 августа 2022 г. 
Адрес: Переведеновский переулок, д. 18, Оливье

Международный фестиваль видеоарта «Сейчас&Потом’22»Международный фестиваль видеоарта «Сейчас&Потом» организуется и проводится независимой некоммерческой организацией Центр медиаискусства «Сейчас&Потом», который занимается деятельностью в области культуры, развитием межрегиональных и международных связей в сфере медиаискусства. «Сейчас&Потом» ежегодно проходит в Москве на основе открытого приема заявок от видеохудожников изо всех стран мира. «Сейчас&Потом» стартовал в 2011г., автор проекта – художница Марина Фоменко, которая является директором и куратором фестиваля. Основная задача «Сейчас&Потом» состоит в поддержке, развитии и презентации видеоарта, в создании возможности как для молодых, так и для состоявшихся художников из России и со всего мира показать свои работы широкой аудитории.